Robert Carr Chapel, built in 1952, thanks to a kind gift from San Angelo rancher and oil man, Robert G. Carr, is a landmark for generations of Horned Frogs and the Fort Worth community, serving as a point of entry to TCU and a place of worship. Many design elements from American Colonial churches are evident in the chapel’s architecture thanks to the work of then president’s wife, Mrs. Frances Sadler. These include the iconic stone columns, spire, brass chandeliers, Palladian windows and classically designed chancel.
The chapel was opened in May of 1954 with a beautiful dedication service led by Dr. Granville T. Walker with the organ played by then university organist Dr. Emmett G. Smith. The chapel was rededicated after its 2016-2017 renovation on September 20th, 2017.